How You Can Help: Yamil & Claudia

Families can be together forever (unless Homeland Security has its way)
Families are of God (unless they’re immigrants, then Homeland Security can take the wheel)

Every time I speak on immigration I will inevitably hear the question “Well, what can I do?” from someone, and I am here to tell you of a very specific thing you could do: Donate.

I know, you are probably rolling your eyes, but if you have ever wondered what you as an individual can do to set the scales in favor of those who have a whole system rigged against them, I am telling you- we need your help.

Let me tell you a little bit about detention centers: They are horrible. I did less than a day in one, and even after almost 10 years, talking about my time there will still break me down.

Detention centers are privately owned businesses, and as any business they are interested in one thing and one thing only: turning over a profit. What other system would jail children, pregnant women, and injure and ignore those under its “care”.

My plea today is on behalf of one particular case- that of my friends Claudia and Yamil. Claudia is an immigration activist, part of the Dream 9 who originally went to the border requesting asylum. Her husband followed after her two months later and was transferred to the Eloy Detention Center, where he has spent the last 22 months. I cannot wrap my brain around spending almost 2 years behind bars when my single half day ordeal proved so traumatic.

Yamil has spent 22 months living with a fragmented family thanks to the broken immigration system that inflicts violence upon the family unit more than any other institution currently in place, and they do this with the government’s blessing.

So, you support families? Here is one you can immediately support- Yamil’s and Claudia’s. They need to make a 10 thousand dollar bail to have their family together again. We hear so much about the family being of God and yet, there are families languishing and broken under unjust laws.

Be God’s hands- please help, any donation to bring him home will help. You ask how you can help, well, here’s your chance. Donate here to bring Claudia & Yamil’s family together again.

One thought on “How You Can Help: Yamil & Claudia

Leave a Reply

